Ramadevara Betta Aka Sholay Hills

Last week was very hectic and I was in Delhi for 6 days on a work schedule. I touched three different states in a span of six days and such schedules are very gruelling. I can still feel the strain due to the travel but it’s all part of the work and so no regrets. I needed a break and as it was a beautiful chilled out sunday I planned to ride out with my brother to a nearby spot. I had to choose a place which was not far so that it would not drain me out too much. After a little bit of searching around found the spot I wanted to do and we zeroed on “Ramdevara Betta” (Betta means Mountain in Kannada). This is a small hill located in the district of Ramnagara which is located at a distance of around 50 Kilometers from the city of Bangalore.

At the Base of Hills

At the Base of Hills

Around the corner of First Anjaneya Temple

Around the corner of  Anjaneya         Temple

I filled the fuel in my Bike and set out on the highway at around 11am in the morning along with my younger brother. The highway was very peaceful but sometimes I am turned off by drivers who are very careless. I always stress the neccessity to ride sensibly on the roads, it is not a place for display of acrobatic skills and for people who want to do that there is always a different place and they should go and get that. After a ride of around one hour we reached the base of the hill and I was excited seeing the number of steps in front of us leading to the summit. We had not done some trek to a hill for quite sometime now and this was looking very promising. We had our bags with water, juices, energy bars and some biscuits incase we just needed them, though water is the most essential and the juice can rev you up any moment for you need lots of clories and carbs while trekking.

The Temple

The Temple

This is Stupendous

This is Stupendous

We started to climb the hill slowly and steadily, the place is very silent and green. The trees around make a dense canopy and you can walk in the shade for a while. I think you would need to walk around for 400 steps cut into the rocks and it leads to a kind of opening and you can see two temples on the hillocks. There were a bunch of excited school children and they were havin a session of scouts and guides. Children always have fun and we could not stop noticing the chatter with fun, mischievious games being played around. We continued our climb and went behind the main temple and started walking further ahead. There were few grass shoots and trees leading to the other side and then we saw something worth and what we waited for. It was sometime since we saw some big rocks and right in front of us was a huge valley of big rocks and this would be any rock climbers paradise. The camera lens was just not enough to capture the whole frame and this is where i felt the need for a biggerone. Yet i did not shy away from shooting the pictures and went on clicking some.

Do you Feel it

Do you Feel it

Don't Stop

Don’t Stop

Visual Treat

Visual Treat

Just as excited as the small children we kept on exploring the valley without taking a look at our watches and we climbed higher. In pursuit of something thrilling which we would not want the day to end without it, we came across a steep rock and the steps were cut into it. When we strained our necks and lifted high my throat grabbed a lump and I am a bit scared of heights though i do not mind taking a flight. There was a steep rock and we had the option of climbing higher and going to the top, but at a certain point the climb was going to be very vertical and you do not want to look down or behind. My younger brother was all up and started to climb ahead and I took the cue from him. Slowly and carefully holding the side rail keeping the foot side by side one after the another, i reached the top and overcame my nervousness. It is a happy and proud moment for you to overcome any negativity and take stock of the situation. I was tired and thirsty, we had some tetrapacks of a fresh juice and recharged our energy levels. We enjoyed the time by clicking few photographs and relaxing on the grass. After a while there were few more enthusiastic people who came on the top and a few of them returned back halfway without making it to the top. Well we had our bags full and stepped down very slowly, suddenly for a moment i just wondered the mountaineers and climbers who climb and scale monoliths. I am full of a brave salute for these guys and maybe i will scale a higher wall next time.

 

Lord Hanuman

Lord Hanuman

56 Steps to Bravery

56 Steps to Bravery

BeenThere Done It

BeenThere Done It

On the way back we had to fill our stomachs and enjoyed a very decent rotis with mushroom curry as lunch. The ride back was very good and we were home before evening. This was another small haul coming to an end and will be a beautiful memory, well touring is always on the cards and in order to rejuvenate you ahve to enjoy such moments. Go grab your bags and head to Sholay Hills at 50 clicks.

About The Wall Of Fusions

I am an Electronic Engineer by education and a Service Engineer by profession. Born and brought-up in Delhi, Chandigarh, Manipal, Bangalore. Bangalore is my home and it is very beautiful out here. My all time favorites are a plate of steaming idlis & vadas with piping hot sambar . This is a typical South Indian breakfast and I have survived on it as old as I am. Working in the Service Engineering profile has given me a lot of exposure about scientific business activities and it is a good learning experience. By providing first hand support to customers for their automated material quantizing and qualitative instruments which always need to perform better, I understand the techniques to keep up-to the challenge and Vinayak has continuously striven hard to improve his self, education and techniques by constant reading and implementation. His passion lies in implementing and learning new strategies. Vinayak is a Post Graduate in MBA from Sikkim Manipal of the Manipal University. The Blog here, "Wall Of Fusions", is an attempt to get close to like minded bloggers who love to share their experiences. My blog is a wall of my personal as well as professional experiences, I travel a lot since my profession demands it and I come across so many different people and various cultures with different recipes. I do not write about a significant genre here, I would give everything else other than that. So while you go ahead and read the experiences I share, if you throw back some of your's that would definitely serve a lot of purpose.
This entry was posted in Vinay and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

