Ganjifa and Styx

It has been a year now since I started at wordpress and am really very glad to be here. I have learn’t and evolved as a teller, have put my thoughts and fantasies into writings and have been trying to improve and improvise. I would like to emulate that and pass on to the next level and while me hold the boat steady, from now on i would make more efforts to share more and more about the art, literature, culture of my country and things that I would come across.

Folk Festival

Folk Festival

Thank You TOI

Thank You TOI

Bangalore is a very beautiful and renowned city where Art has played a very important role, while I have always appreciated true art and observed that people have conected with all forms of art here. Last week The Times Of India had organised the “Folk Festival” at Jaymahal Palace and I was unable to visit the first two days. There were artists from world over who showcased their pieces and when I read it in print, knew I had missed something. So, I decided to visit the last day of the festival and I am sharing it here along with you all.

A very Colorful Pillar

A very Colorful Pillar

Everything comes at a price but when it is art, How can you put a price? The God is residing in the palms of an artisan or artist. Whether he is a sculptor, a painter, a wood carver or a puppet maker and everything has its renowned value. The effort certainly is higher and to become an artist and make your masterpieces which have to be recognised and become impressive will take years of dedication in that. While i walked over and observed the many stalls at display i came across a very curious one by the name “Bheemstyx”, this was a stall where sticks carved out of pure wood were being sold and these pieces of sticks were not normal. My first thought was to now whether he felled the trees to make these, to this the maker promptly replied that he collected the wood sticks which fell on the ground and collected them. He gave me a small script where I read and found the details very Impressive, there were lots of beautiful sticks and wanted to carry a few. I took some time to book my staff and Liked it very much, as i told earlier that you cannot put a price on the piece of art and i got the stick at a very resonamble price.

Bheemstyx

Bheemstyx

Watch the "Staff"

Watch the “Staff”

I moved ahead with curious eyes and found many more interesting artifacts. I was taking everything in very slowly when i came across very beautiful paintings and then it was Ganjifa. I had seen Ganjifa elsewhere too, but right in front of me was the national painter who has won many accolades for her style. It was stunning to see the delicate and intricate work on such a small area. I went through many paints and selected one which i would have to frame a bit later and keep it along with me. Right now it is in my kitty, and happy to have it as i think its a very rare souvenir and to have it from the painter herself is a very positive thing. I asked the painter about Ganjifa and she told that the Royal Scions in the kingdom of Mysore used these ganjifa cards to play card games. I saw few Ganjifas of Moghul emperors too which was very stunning and i did not have the courage to enquire about the price.The Ganjifa i have here is mother yashodha with the baby krsn’a in her hands and it appealed to me the most. So, go ahead and get your Ganjifa variants as it is very rare and I am sure you will like to keep it in the display of your hall.

Yashodhara Krsn'a -- Ganjifa

Yashodhara Krsn’a — Ganjifa

As the evening set in we watched an Indonesian play which was the epic Ramayana retold from their side, and we were delighted as it was a very beautiful puppet show. It was very captivating and our evening was relaxed. When i came out and saw the Jaymahal Palace all decked up and was just thinking to myself as what would it bring next time for all of us here in Bangalore .

Jaymahal Palace

Jaymahal Palace

About The Wall Of Fusions

I am an Electronic Engineer by education and a Service Engineer by profession. Born and brought-up in Delhi, Chandigarh, Manipal, Bangalore. Bangalore is my home and it is very beautiful out here. My all time favorites are a plate of steaming idlis & vadas with piping hot sambar . This is a typical South Indian breakfast and I have survived on it as old as I am. Working in the Service Engineering profile has given me a lot of exposure about scientific business activities and it is a good learning experience. By providing first hand support to customers for their automated material quantizing and qualitative instruments which always need to perform better, I understand the techniques to keep up-to the challenge and Vinayak has continuously striven hard to improve his self, education and techniques by constant reading and implementation. His passion lies in implementing and learning new strategies. Vinayak is a Post Graduate in MBA from Sikkim Manipal of the Manipal University. The Blog here, "Wall Of Fusions", is an attempt to get close to like minded bloggers who love to share their experiences. My blog is a wall of my personal as well as professional experiences, I travel a lot since my profession demands it and I come across so many different people and various cultures with different recipes. I do not write about a significant genre here, I would give everything else other than that. So while you go ahead and read the experiences I share, if you throw back some of your's that would definitely serve a lot of purpose.
This entry was posted in Vinay and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

