The South East Coast —

I started off on a ride alone and two years ago to my native place udupi, Udupi is a small temple town and it is located at a distance of around 450 odd kilometers from the city of Bangalore. Udupi is a very famous town for its temples and you can recognize it very easily because every city in India has a legendary udupi hotel. They are famous for their snacks, the hotels dish out some very tasty grubs which cannot be stopped just after tasting once. Some of the prominent and regular snacks that sell high are goli baje, biscuit ambade, pathrode, banana halwa and many others. The list is very long and if you get a chance to visit any of the small hotel shacks, please try it once.

Through the roads of Shiradi Ghats

Through the roads of Shiradi Ghats

Forest Cover in the Ghats

Forest Cover in the Ghats

One after another, The curves never stop

One after another, The curves never stop

Anyways, once I am on the highway it is me and the bike, I own a Royal Enfield C350 which has covered few miles of adventurous rides and will keep doing in future. While riding on the bike it might take a good seven hours for me to reach Udupi and after taking good amount of breaks for resting is very important while riding . I ensure and suggest everyone to ride safe anywhere and everywhere, as road sense is the most important aspect of long rides and sensibility has to prevail in individuals. Okay from Bangalore I reach Sakleshpur, the roads here get a bit narrow and serpentine, the very famous Western ghats and also known as the Shiradi Ghats are a very beautiful scene to watch. I studied in Manipal, and I have traveled through these roads many times, but the enjoyment I experience while riding solo on the bike through here is something I cannot compromise from the shut doors of a cabin.

Pernankila

Pernankila

Shri krishna Math, Temple Square - Udupi

Shri krishna Math, Temple Square – Udupi

After Sakleshpur, it takes me another three or four hours to reach Udupi. Udupi is located adjacent to the world famous education town of Manipal. Manipal has a very excellent Infrastructure though the entire radius of this town is not more than six or seven odd kilometers. I feel proud to speak about manipal because I was born here and this special attachment will always stay with me. There are world class Universities in Manipal which offer educational courses, degrees, masters, doctorates and everything for more than 50 years now, the moment of pride was recent when many a dignitaries have flown in and invested in the field of research in these institutes. Anyways this again will take so much of volume if I have to go in detail about it.

Offering prayers at the sacrosanct of Panjuruli

Offering prayers at the sacrosanct of Panjuruli

Mookambika at Kollur

Mookambika at Kollur

My father had already reached after taking the overnight bus and was waiting for me at our home in Ambalpady. The purpose of this ride was a personal matter to be undertaken also a visit to few temples, Okay and we visited many temples for the next week or more and though I do not have much details of everything and all the temples, I will show you a few which were very interesting and have some history. So, I visited a temple of Lord Ganesha in a place called Pernankila which is a few kilometers away from Udupi, now in India whenever you have to start something of significance and we start the auspicious event or occasion by invoking Ganesha’s name. Ganesha is considered as the elephant headed God who is very intelligent and very humble. He is considered to be very powerful who can remove any obstacles from that purpose of significance. The temple is very beautiful and located far away from the hustle of the city, visiting the temples in coastal area of Karnataka comes with this package where you do not have to deal with the traffic or madness of the cities. My very favorite prasadam the appa or appam is distributed to everyone here and it is really very tasty and it can be cooked at home also, but sorry I do not know the recipe for it.

Miniscule -- From the top of Kapu Lighthouse

Miniscule — From the top of Kapu Lighthouse

The South East Coast

The South East Coast

Redeemer at Kapu

Redeemer at Kapu

The coastal splendor is really a delight and in the heart of the Udupi town lies the most magnificent temple of Shri Krs’na. Krishna is life and the temple here has a very beautiful history, it is believed that the founder of the Madhawa sect and Hid holiness Shri Shri Shri Madwacharya found the idol of the lord while he was bathing in the pond. From that day onwards the idol is located here and there are few more prominent temples of Anantheshwara, Chandramouleshwara located besides. The temple street is always busy and everyday there are lots of tourists visiting these famous temples and seek the divine blessings of the lord.

Eye meets eye - at the horizon it is infinite

Eye meets eye – at the horizon it is infinite

Few kilometers away is a beach Kapu with a very beautiful light house, and I personally enjoy going there. I spent a very beautiful day there with my father, while he waited at the footsteps of the lighthouse and I had a chance to climb atop the lighthouse and watch the pristine view of the sun, the beach, the people and all of them together forming the cohesion nature. When i recall these memories even now at this moment I would love to take my family out there and enjoy some beautiful moments. There is so much of beautiful nature around us and how we tend to ignore it.

Kapu Lighthouse -- A saviour to the wanderers

Kapu Lighthouse — A saviour to the wanderers

My father was born in Manipal and he served a National Bank all his life. Few years ago he retired from active service, he is very fond of prayers and obeisances to Gods and Deities are never missed. All my knowledge about this comes from him, while we visit our  house in badagbettu and I watch him doing the prayers and puja for a guardian angel or what we call as bhuta and daiva in our elementary languages. The daiva we pray is panjuruli and he is the one guardian who looks after us and is responsible for a good harvest in the fields through out the year. The story is profound and the details will come up sometime and for the friends who know about these already might be a very normal title. This is for the rest of commons who do not know about my culture, tradition, art and it is a small effort to spread this bliss of coastal fervor.

 

About The Wall Of Fusions

I am an Electronic Engineer by education and a Service Engineer by profession. Born and brought-up in Delhi, Chandigarh, Manipal, Bangalore. Bangalore is my home and it is very beautiful out here. My all time favorites are a plate of steaming idlis & vadas with piping hot sambar . This is a typical South Indian breakfast and I have survived on it as old as I am. Working in the Service Engineering profile has given me a lot of exposure about scientific business activities and it is a good learning experience. By providing first hand support to customers for their automated material quantizing and qualitative instruments which always need to perform better, I understand the techniques to keep up-to the challenge and Vinayak has continuously striven hard to improve his self, education and techniques by constant reading and implementation. His passion lies in implementing and learning new strategies. Vinayak is a Post Graduate in MBA from Sikkim Manipal of the Manipal University. The Blog here, "Wall Of Fusions", is an attempt to get close to like minded bloggers who love to share their experiences. My blog is a wall of my personal as well as professional experiences, I travel a lot since my profession demands it and I come across so many different people and various cultures with different recipes. I do not write about a significant genre here, I would give everything else other than that. So while you go ahead and read the experiences I share, if you throw back some of your's that would definitely serve a lot of purpose.
This entry was posted in Vinay and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The South East Coast —

  1. Thank you for the support…. need comments and feedback which is highly appreciated

    Like

  2. John says:

    Thank Vinayaki! Very interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

